transbunny gif

Sequel/remake for my Speedrun game.

This can also be read over on Itch.io

I had started working on creating a sequel/remake of sorts of My speedrunning game making gamemaker studio, with their recent license change. This was also where i started to learn how to actually code. Before I had just used gdevelop. After a few months of learning I slowly started gain an issue with the $100 price tag still on game maker, if i chose to want to sell my game I would have to also choose to either pay up or somehow circumvent that. This would send me down a rabbit hole to other options to port the game too I ultimately ended up on Godot, being Free and Open Source.

I got a lot setup rather quickly! I got the tile-map and the player movement set up easily. The movement at its base was just the basic Godot code that it adds to the characterbody2d, but this quickly grew to include better jumping controls, including varied jumping, a jump buffer, and coyote time. I also started with a simple camera, before also switching a plugin named phantom camera, that added in more control over the camera that I can use to be more customizable down the line,

You can see the infancy of the dash effects in this video aswell, i didnt have the speed set high enough and was confused at first.

You can see i got the dash to actually be better, as well got other settings to feel a little better with the varied jumping, i still haven't gotten down just how fast i want the dash in this. And still to this day its still a bit off at the moment but im getting there.

The other thing I shown off is getting the checkpoints to work on this. Showing it off slightly in this video, Its set up so you can only use the checkpoint once so you cant double back somehow on accident

The last video so far, is me showing off an issue I had, you can see the desired effect in the first clip. For some reason the actual panel was not fitting to my screen. I got the messages working however had no way to figure this out. My friend pointed out that it could be a gpu issue, so i decided to switch to compatibility renderer and it fixed it just like that, so seems to be that was the issue. This also opens up the possibility of me putting this in browser in the future! So either I will do that or release a demo through the browser for people to try the game!

Bonus clip, the square can be turned trans


Love Every Trans Woman You Meet Before It's Too Late.