transbunny gif

This Too Shall Pass Devlog 1

This Too Shall Pass is my second game in the Godot Engine. I've been working on it for the past couple months and finally got around to writing up an actual devlog. I've shared stuff from it before but I put it all together because I was a little lazy.

The Start

The game came up after I realized i needed to figure out more about godots navigation system after i started a tougher concept. The original game would have been far harder without the knowledge i got from this game. That's why it starts off with the enemy navigation in the video.

Art and Animation

I had a really basic vision for the game, slightly inspired by GRIS, and similar looking games. Some concepts changed greatly from my original vision, namely the first enemy going from something far more vague to something more recognizable. I'm happy with where it all landed so far.

Godot has some very powerful and interesting animation stuff inside it. I had trouble figuring it out at first but overall i enjoyed it in the end getting it all working. I think it looks good how it is now.

Combat

I wanted very simple combat, being technically side scrolling while still being top down. All the combat is from left and right.

I quickly figured out that the combat felt much better with some feedback from knock-back and thrusting forward when you attack and get hit. The dash at first wouldn't let you go through enemies, however after some play-testing one of my friends pointed out it would feel better, So i put that in as it also makes sense from the perspective.

I also later added healing, the lampposts will heal the player over time of standing within the light beam.

Gui

HUD

The HUD had a major change recently. I started with having a health bar, that I really enjoy as it goes down when hit, and then has a secondary bar that goes down over time. Giving a really nice effect.

Now I changed it however, the health bar was added as an accessibility option. Now in base game the health bar is hidden and the player has a light aura around them that goes down based on their health.

Menu and controls

The menu I decided so far to keep is super simple. Finding a couple shaders on godotshaders.com and adding them into the game to get the effects i wanted. I really like the menu despite its simpleness I think it gives exactly how I want the game to feel off the bat.

Controls I found a plugin by nathan hoad for the input https://github.com/nathanhoad/godot_input_helper . which made it far easier to switch them and create the menu to add them in. Its not perfect right now but I'm glad i found it

Dev Menu

it was fun.


Love Every Trans Woman You Meet Before It's Too Late.