transbunny gif

UI and More

You can also read this on Itch.io


UI

UI in Godot is surprisingly simple. The node setup to begin with was a little overwhelming at first but once you figure it out it can really come together. I started with setting up the in game HUD which tells the player how many deaths and how long they are taking. I have thought about making this an option to turn on, however the game is built around "speed" and "precision" so for now I plan on keeping it. While nothing saves yet, I have setup the end screen showing the best time and total deaths.


Total Deaths

This gets its own smaller section because I ran into some issues that you'll see in the video. Within it i had the code to add the total death up in an autoload script in Godot. Using this I had it so it automatically added while the script was running, the issue clearly being it never was told to do it once. I realized, at least for my knowledge atm I couldn't connect a signal to the autoload script, so i had to rethink my way of doing this. In the end i found its much easier to just call the total deaths from the script and add to it in the code for when the player hits the finish line.


Main Menu

The main menu is mostly filler at the moment, though im unsure how much i will change it if at all. I am still searching for a good font. So far I started with Kaph and for now settled on Thaleah Both are really good fonts, and you should check out the creators! I plan on changing it so that a level select menu open open when you click play for now it sends you to my test level though. I had a minor hiccup where I went to quit to the main menu from my pause menu and everything was offset and wouldn't work. I realized later that I hadn't unpaused the game, so fixing that worked.


Sounds and Options

I had a really dumb moment with the sounds, i had accidentally made them all directional, and not noticed until just recently where i finally changed them to the correct thing. However options are interesting. A lot of it was far easier than i thought it would be, like the fullscreen, and audio settings. The input mapping I only really ran into an issue when I looked into adding gamepad input, less of an issue with the options though and more about my game not being built for it with the animations. So for now I do not plan on adding gamepad input. If it becomes requested I may take another look in the future.


Camera

The camera will change a few times through out the video, but the jist of the camera is i was using an add-on for the most part in the beginning. I enjoyed it but found that it was really easy to miss jumps, or not see hazards due to how little was on screen. One thing I did to fix this was zoom the camera out, this game more room for the character and all the things on screen. Second was I moved the camera to be in front of where the character moved. While i think this makes the character feel slightly slower, the result of being able to see more of the platforming was a good trade off. The last thing i have done is increase the drag when moving up or down. When you jump the camera is slower to follow you unless you leave a specific area of the screen, while moving down it follows you faster. This was to again allow for the player to see more of the ground and what was below them.


New Finish Line

This is pretty self explanatory, I switched up the finish line, the old one was just bland and i think really hard to understand what was going on. So I changed it to something more flashy.


Debug Menu

Its small at the moment but during testing I figured for now the best method will be to add the levels to this so i can quickly go between them.


Larger Jump

I do not know the name of this mechanic, but a late addition to the game to add to the limited move set. Now when you dash and hit the ground the player has a short time frame where they can jump higher, the player can use this to gain extra height in their next dash to get over larger walls or obstacles.


Love Every Trans Woman You Meet Before It's Too Late.